Picture
These are the dark brown leghorns that I bought after I sold my Isa Browns.  They lay white eggs just like the white leghorns do!  Do you know how you can tell what color egg a chicken will lay?  You can tell by the color of their earlobe.  You can see the white ear on this rooster. 

     I still had a lot to learn about chickens and farming!  What I didn't know didn't hurt me, or did it?  I had a dream to have my own farm and become at least 90% self sustaining.  I wanted a business which would enable me to hatch chicks, sell eggs, and breed good quality animals to share with others.  I had a barn that was a mess and hadn't been used for animals for many, many years.  It needed a lot of work and I wasn't even that good with a hammer and nails! Like I said before, I do everything backwards, this is how I learn!  I got the animals before the barn was ready for them.  That is how I got it all started.  

    There was a lady at my son's day care that had chickens and a farm in the past but now lived in town.  She wanted to help me get my chicken venture started.  So her and her 15 year old son came out to the farm and built up the middle chicken coop for the chickens that we got free at the 4H fair.  The chicken coop was beautiful and I named it The Coop Deville! 

Picture
Here is the chicken coop before....

Picture
Here is the coop after... NOW it is The Coop Deville!  I loved it!  It is still gorgeous!  To this day I am still grateful for the role that my dear friend and her son played in getting this chicken business started!

    What a big difference two people can make in the life of a single farm girl!  The chickens loved their new home!  We put all of the white leghorns in their new Coop Deville.  This is how I found out that White Leghorn chickens can fly really well.  You can't see it in this picture but there are holes at the tip top of this coop.  When I came back out to the barn to show my friends the new coop the white leghorns had "flown the coop" so to speak and were flying all over the barn.  They were in the hay loft, in the barn, "free ranging" you name it! One of the chickens flew on one of my girlfriends back and she about had a stroke right there in the barn!  Needless to say, the first tour didn't go so well in the barn.  *smile* My other friend's husband helped me get all of the chickens back in their coop.  This is how I learned to clip chicken wings!  (Still learning everything backwards
    
    To clip chicken wings you use scissors and you clip one wing shorter than the other.  This causes the chicken be unbalanced when it tries to fly and it can't fly.  I haven't lost a white leghorn chicken due to "flying the coop" since.  Notice I only said white leghorn.  That bring me to another story that I will tell very soon. 

~ Dawn


1/24/2013 12:35:22 am

I love your facebook page and am spreading the word! Going to start following your blog also! Thanks so much! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you can post your comments or questions about sustainable living, farming, recipes, anything you want to share with the farm community.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All