Picture
This is Pretty Boy my Dominique Roo that was given to me when I first started The Coop Deville!  He is about 6 months old in this picture.  This picture was taken last Thanksgiving. 
When I moved to my new place there was a lot to learn on the farm.  Mainly I was learning about how to raise chickens.  How hard could that be?  Little did I know.  I was new to this chicken farming thing and I got a real life lesson on predator's as soon as I moved in with the chickens. 
I went in to feed Pretty Boy and the "girls" one day and Pretty Boy was gone!  Vanished into thin air!  I looked everywhere for him, tears in my eyes, and I couldn't find him anywhere!  My first thought was someone stole him!  He is endangered maybe someone wanted him really bad?  I had to go to work.  I called my boss crying to tell her I would be five minutes late because I couldn't find my rooster! She said it would be ok and I could get another rooster.  Of course, I didn't want another roo; I wanted Pretty Boy!  Pretty Boy would eat out of your hand, he would peck at my leg until I picked him up!  He loved to eat broccoli out of your hand.  He was so gentle and kind!  I just loved that baby roo! 
On my way to work I called a dear old friend and he went to the barn to check out the situation.  He called me at work to tell me that he had found Pretty Boy and he was dead in the corner of the barn.  He also said he didn't know how I missed him and that there were feathers on the door of the coop as well.  I didn't see him through my tears is how I missed him.  So now I knew there was a culprit in the barn and I was determined to find it!  I went on my lunch break and bought a live trap.  I took it home, couldn't figure out how to set it, got some chicken flavored cat food, and called my friend again.  He went to the barn, set the trap, and I waited.  Not for long!  The next day I had a 25 lb. black barn cat in that trap.  That cat "came with the barn" when I moved in and I suspected him but some people told me a cat wouldn't take down a chicken like that.  Well, they do and if anyone tells you they don't they are wrong! 
Two of my old high school friends came over to help me "dispose" of that mean old barn cat.  He was meaner than a junk yard dog!  I couldn't shoot it!  My friend couldn't shoot it!  So my old high school girlfriend went out there in a dress, talked to that cat before she shot it!  My guy friend and I ran toward the house so we didn't hear the shot but he didn't make it to his car in time and I didn't get in the house in time before the gunshot went off!  Let's see, I had lived on this farm for four months before I had to dispose of my first predator! 
Little did I know then that I would later lose 14 chickens and a duck to coyotes!  At that time in my farm career I would not have been prepared for disposing of coyotes.  Farm life has toughened me up some and now I feel ready to protect all of my animals, myself and my son!  It is a process and one I am still working through. 


Picture
Pretty Boy eating his favorite treat, Broccoli!  How did Pretty Boy get his name?  My aunt, Betty Shy, used to have a cardinal when she lived in her log cabin.  She would whistle every day and say, "here Pretty Boy" and don't you know that cardinal would always come flying up to where she was standing or sitting.  I saw this myself on my visits to her home.  I always loved this about her and I love this story.  I wanted a little piece of that on my farm so I named my favorite roo "Pretty Boy."  Thank you, Aunt Betty, for some great childhood memories!  I love you! 
~ Dawn

Michelle Alger
2/8/2013 12:30:54 pm

So sad, but it's amazing what farming teaches us and the stregnth in us it awakes that we never knew we had.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you can post your comments or questions about sustainable living, farming, recipes, anything you want to share with the farm community.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All