Picture
As I was doing a head count of the chicken flock I realized that I was missing 14 chickens!  All laying hens and one male white pekin duck!  I have a breeding pair of ducks or I should say I did have one.  I am missing 15 birds total!  I looked in the corn field, in the tall grasses they hide in, behind the barn, in the barn, around the entire property and they were no where to be found.  I let my great pyrenees out to herd them up and there were none!  I had 28 laying hens for my small egg business and now my flock has been cut in half by COYOTES! There is a new pack in town and I could hear them all talking to each other last night.   This is a brand new pack because I haven't heard them all summer until now.  There are usually a few coyotes here and there but never this many!  I am making preparations to get rid of this problem.  Wish me luck? 

~ Dawn

1/22/2013 05:57:10 am

Oh man!! I hope they leave you alone. we also have so many coyotes around here, completely surrounded, i cant explain how many even. One way to get rid? Shotgun..

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you can post your comments or questions about sustainable living, farming, recipes, anything you want to share with the farm community.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All