Picture
I received this picture today of our new great pyrenees, Glacier.  He's so handsome!  He is the bright spot in my day today!  He is four weeks old and I can't wait to meet him!  
 
I overslept this morning!  I woke up at 7:50 am.  I jumped out of bed, you know that feeling when you oversleep, the panic you feel when you wake up?  I made a flying leap out of bed, got my son up, he got dressed really quick and I got him to school right on time.  But then I remembered school starts late on Monday so he was actually 30 minutes early! So I told him he had plenty of time to eat breakfast before school today and how great it was he wasn't really late!  I rushed home, got ready, got to work 50 minutes late and I was off to the races! 

Work flew by, then on my way to pick up my son, take him to football practice, then go home and cook supper.  Hmmm...maybe we will eat at a local restaurant that has my favorite strawberry lemonade and taco salad.  Sounds yummy! 

Can't wait to get back out into the country from the hustle and bustle of the city and work!  

Last night, I sold 5 dozen Coturnix Quail eggs!  I really love the Coturnix Quail and they are sooo hardy, good layers, they make a beautiful noise in the barn.  I highly recommend any farmer or chicken lover getting these birds to make a nice addition to your farm.  I hear they are very good to eat too but I haven't eaten any yet.  I am still trying to get up my nerve on that one.  It may come one day. *smile*  That is all a part of sustainable living isn't it? 

My plan is to get two calves and raise them for beef.  My fear is that they will both be named, petted, cared for, fed, and then come time to butcher them I won't be able to do it because I will have turned them into pets too!  Being raised on a farm but not farming is hard to get used to the idea of raising your own food and eating it.  I know it is much better for you.  The quality is better and it is healthier so I want to do it.  I just hope I have the heart to do it.  Time will tell. 

Debbie
2/6/2013 02:27:01 am

Do you have any more recent pics of the pupp?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you can post your comments or questions about sustainable living, farming, recipes, anything you want to share with the farm community.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All