Picture
This is my sister, my cousin, and myself in that order from left to right.  We were kids in the 70's as if you can't tell from the clothes? Those were the days! 

     Most people ask me how I got to be a livestock farmer and I usually smile, then tell them my story. Now I am going to tell you.  I grew up in the country but my family never farmed.  My mom and dad worked really hard every day to provide for myself, my younger brother and sister.  They worked really hard and instilled values in me that will never go away.  That is how to work hard, love others, love family, and be responsible!  

     My dad comes from a farm and my grandpa and grandma farmed while he was growing up.  He never really talked about life on his farm growing up much and I didn't know what all it entailed.  Now, every time I make a mistake or want to do something my dad is a wealth of information!   Who knew? I am glad I get to see this side of his life now and we share farming in common. 

     I started this new venture after living in "town" for 20 years.  I needed a change and I longed to live in the country again where I grew up.  So I packed up my little two bedroom apartment and my son and I moved to the country in a two story, country house, on two acres, with a big, huge, red barn and lots of possibilities.  We were given our first chickens by the local 4H fair.  Nineteen, white leghorns, to care for as soon as we moved in and so it began; our new adventure!  Boy was it an adventure! Taking care of chickens, how hard can it be, right?  I wanted laying hens right away so I also bought 20 Isa Browns  from an old Amish Farmer and they quit laying when I got them.  I couldn't get them to lay to save my life!  I had all kinds of "chicken experts" come in, which were old high school friends of mine, to help me figure this out!  They were stumped too.  They were used to just having chickens in a coop and they layed eggs!  That is what I thought too!  Well I was wrong.  Apparently, when you move chickens they sometimes quit laying for a good two weeks or more.  Mine had lots of feathers missing, they looked diseased, but I later found out that was from the roosters plucking their feathers out when he fertilzed the hens.  Their feathers gradually grew back in and they looked more normal.  They eventually started laying after I added a roost, and a barrel for them to lay in to have more privacy.  Who knew a chicken needed privacy?  Not me!  
    
     Some people might start small, figure out how to raise chickens, and then get more.  Well, not me!  I jump right in with both feet to everything that I do.  I usually say I do everything backwards such as I get the chickens then I figure out how to raise them.  That is how I learn by doing!  I sold my first flock of Isa Browns because they weren't laying at even 60% after they were 15 months old.  I decided I was feeding them like crazy and they weren't producing enough eggs for my very small egg business.  I made a business decision, sold them on craigslist, and got some new chickens.  This time I got dark brown leghorns and my white leghorns were about to lay.  I think we went two weeks without any hens laying and I had enough eggs to last us that long.  This is what started my being interested in various breeds of chickens and the egg color.  I decided at this point I wanted a chicken that layed every color of egg that was possible and so my hunt continued for the perfect flock of chickens! 
Picture
My first flock of chickens; white leghorns and a Dominique Roo someone gave me.   HIs name was pretty boy.  His story will be published soon. 

Picture
The three girls that used to play restaurant together. We decided that my sister was the waitress while me and my cousin made the "mud pies." My sister was never one to get too dirty! *smile*
This is my sister, myself and my same cousin as pictured above.  We haven't changed much in ohhhhhhhh some 30 years? 

Dee
9/8/2012 09:04:41 am

This is a very good blog! I love it! Dee

Reply
George
9/8/2012 09:20:58 am

Nice blog and interesting read. Dad

Reply
sandra miller
9/8/2012 09:56:18 am

I really enjoyed reading this and can't hardly wait for the next one.

Reply
Donna
9/8/2012 09:58:18 am

Nice blog - keep it up, please.

Reply
Jody
9/8/2012 12:24:07 pm

Definitely a highlight of my childhood..my very first co-workers. : )
After having lived in the"city" for many years now, I do miss the country. The night sky just doesn't look the same. Kudos to you for returning to the place you love. : )
Great blog, cousin....

Reply
1/24/2013 01:11:34 am

Love your blog!

Reply
1/26/2013 03:02:13 am

I am really glad I found you! I love your facebook page and now your blog! Thanks and keep up the good work!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you can post your comments or questions about sustainable living, farming, recipes, anything you want to share with the farm community.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All